cowley named

Go down

cowley named Empty cowley named

Post  bluebird on Mon Jul 13, 2009 9:50 am

In 1854 Congress established the Kansas Territory, and the area was divided into counties. The land north of the “Cherokee Strip” was first called Hunter County. On March 3, 1867, the Kansas Legislature subdivided the unorganized Hunter and Irving Counties, and this immediate area became Cowley County, named for First Lt. Matthew Cowley, a member of Company I of the Ninth Kansas Cavalry, who was killed in service in 1864 at Little Rock, Arkansas.

Taken from
In This We Glory, 2nd Edition
Allan E. Maag
In collaboration with Arkansas City Historical Society
Gilliland Printing Company
Arkansas City, Kansas 1986
Central Plains Book MFG.
Winfield , Kansas 2006


Posts : 181
Join date : 2009-07-12

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum